Home Contents

City Information

Agendas Newsletters City Information Business Community Service Organizations Religious Community Marion ACTS Schools Daycare Services Recreation Transportation City Ordinances Zoning Regulations Summer Celebration History of Marion 125th Anniversary

Marion, population 784, is divided into three wards.  The City Council is an aldermanic council, consisting of a mayor and six councilmen.  Two councilmen, elected on alternate years for a two-year term, represent each ward.  The term of the mayor is two years as well.  The Council meets the first Monday of the month in the meeting room of the City Office.  Following are the current City officials:

Mayor – Ron Globke

Councilmen -

                                    Ward One – Jim Kettwig, John Ptak

                                    Ward Two – Bryan Luke, Dick Luke

                                    Ward Three – Rick Nelson, Rhonda Smith

                        2017 City Appointments


Restricted Use Facility:

John Ptak, Chairman

Rhonda Smith

Streets & Utilities:

Rick Nelson, Chairman

Jim Kettwig, Rhonda Smith

Buildings & Equipment:

Dick Luke, Chairman

Jim Kettwig

Parks & Recreation:

Rick Nelson, Chairman

John Ptak, Bryan Luke

Personnel & Public Safety:

Dick Luke, Chairman

Bryan Luke

                         Other Appointments

City Attorney:

Jeff Cole

Library Committee:

Martha Gesick, Karolyn Langerock, Linda Luke (Coordinator/School Librarian)

Police Department:

Turner County Sheriff's Dept.

Finance Officer & Econ. Dev. Coordinator:


Kari Muller

City Operations Supt.:

Dustin Sulzle

City Maintenance:

Jeff Bartscher

Landfill Supervisors: Richard Knutson, Conrad Buse, Ron Kacy

Fire Chief:

Rick Nelson

Zoning Administrator:

Cameron Becker

Zoning Board:

Rhonda Smith, Council Rep.

Greg Larsen, Rick Waltner, Rich Wieman


The City Office is open Monday through Friday, 7:30-11:30 a.m. and 12:30-4:30 p.m.  Water, sewer and garbage billing is handled through the use of a payment book, with all payments remitted to the City Office.  Payments made outside of office hours may be placed in the drop box located in the foyer of the City Office.  For a disturbance, nuisance or any other police matter, contact the Sheriff's Office at (605) 297-3225.

The City has household garbage pickup on Monday mornings, in addition to recycling pickup every Monday as well.  Yard waste and rubble may be taken to the City’s restricted use facility, which is open as follows:

Summer Hours:


Tuesday and Thursday – 4:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Saturday – 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Winter Hours:


1st and 3rd Saturdays from 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

The Marion swimming pool, located just 1 block west of Broadway Avenue, is adjacent to Hieb Memorial Park.  The pool season typically starts after Memorial Day and ends shortly before Labor Day, with the pool open Monday - Friday from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Saturday - Sunday from 1:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. 


Send mail to marionsd@gwtc.net with questions or comments about this web site.  Copyright © 2004 City of Marion, SD.